School Leadership Team

The School Leadership Team (SLT) is the primary school-based vehicle for parents to work with teachers and the Principal to establish school priorities, ensure that the budget is aligned with those priorities, and evaluate our school’s progress.

Six elected parent members and an equal number of teachers comprise the SLT. Through active participation on the SLT and its various sub-committees, members have the opportunity to directly influence how the school operates. The Principal, PTA President/Co-President and UFT Chapter Leader, or their designees, are core members of the the SLT.

The SLT develops the Comprehensive Education Plan (CEP) that sets annual goals for the school in all areas and sets up systems to measure achievement of those goals.

SLT is mandated to meet once a month at PS 29. Meetings are generally the third Thursday of the month in evening. Please see the monthly school calendar for more details. All parents and teachers are welcome to attend. Parents who have questions or suggestions for the SLT but cannot attend a meeting may email the SLT or contact any member.


PS 29 staff members for 2019-2020 include: Rebecca Fagin (school principal); Halee Hochman (assistant principal and SLT co-chair); and teachers: Sara Thorne (3rd grade teacher), Kim VanDuzer (math coach), Monica Salazar-Austin (4th grade teacher), and Emma Fitzpatrick (music teacher and co-UFT representative).  


Elected Parent SLT members for 2019-2020 include: Olivia Poor (PTA President), Karin Ezbiansky Pavese (SLT co-chair), Amanda Abry, Thomas Cortijo, Liz Dore, and Neela Pania. 

Upcoming SLT meeting dates (all meetings are 5:00-6:30pm):

  • September 19th

  • October 17th

  • November 21st

  • December 19th

  • January 16th

  • February 13th

  • March 19th

  • April 23rd

  • May 21st

  • June 18th

  • PS29 on Instagram
  • PS29 Brooklyn on Facebook

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 by PS 29 Brooklyn

Site created by Susannah Sperry

Tel: 718-330-9277